Corona Virus - Private Jet Airport Restrictions - News and Updates

  • As of Monday, March 23, 2020, we have consolidated the updates on our news page. Please visit this link

Updated Monday, March 17, 2020, 6:07 PM EST

The Cayman Islands

Please be advised of airport closure on Sunday 22nd, 2020 until April 12th, 2020, for the Cayman Islands as follows:

1. To close the Owen Roberts International Airport and the Charles Kirk Connell International Airport for international passenger flights for a temporary period of three weeks, beginning Sunday, 22 March 2020 at 11:59 pm until Sunday, 12 April 2020 at 11:59 pm

2. For all destinations except for the United Kingdom, inbound flights from Thursday, 19 March 2020 will operate for returning residents only.

3. Outbound flights will operate as usual through Sunday, 22 March 2020.

4. With immediate effect, any person arriving in the Cayman Islands will be required to be isolated for 14 days.

5. Inter-Island flights will continue, however, flights from Grand Cayman into Cayman Brac and Little Cayman will be restricted to residents and essential persons, for example, medical staff, etc. This because, as we all know, Cayman Brac has a significant elderly population and we want to ensure that they are protected.

Sint Maarten

Effective Tuesday, 17th March 2020, all international flights and cruises originating from the United States of America, Europe and the United Kingdom to St. Maarten are canceled for a period of two weeks. These travel restrictions do not apply for regional air and sea travel at this time. Travel within the Dutch Caribbean – Saba, St. Eustatius, Bonaire, Aruba, and Curacao remains in place until further notice. This travel restriction also applies to other seafaring vessels.

Only incoming visitors from the USA, Canada, Europe, UK, and Ireland are restricted to enter the country of St. Maarten.

All residents and nationals traveling back to St. Maarten from the United States, Europe, and the United Kingdom during this period, are recommended to monitor their health for 14-days for consistent cough, fever or respiratory problems (consistent with COVID-19) and maintain a social distance for the safety and security of the community.

The current travel restrictions apply for two weeks starting on Tuesday, 17th March 2020. Commercial and private/chartered airlines will be allowed to land and take-off after the 16th March deadline date to facilitate the following:

  • Visitors who are currently on the island, or neighboring islands, who are scheduled to travel out via PJIA in the coming weeks to return to their home country.
  • Returning residents of St. Maarten and the surrounding islands, who usually transit through PJIA, invited specialists and other technical assistants, to enter the country with valid travel documents.

Updated Monday, March 16, 2020, 10:20 PM EST

Latest changes in COVID-19 restrictions on Private Jet Travel around the globe.

  • U.S. - The travel restrictions for Europe have officially been extended to the United Kingdom and Ireland. Here's the official proclamation.

Note: Operations that appear feasible due to a potential exemption, can only be confirmed through filling APIS and requesting Landing Rights. CBP could ask for detailed travel history for ANY individual, U.S. Citizen or Foreign National, seeking customs clearance into the U.S.

  • Europe - The president of the European Commission today announced a 30-day restriction of all "non-essential" travel into the E.U. (excluding Schengen Area countries and the U.K.), pending approval by E.U. leadership. We are working on getting more information on this.

Also, the list of countries restricting non-residents or banning international flights altogether is snowballing, including Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Norway, Poland, and Slovakia.

  • U.S. CBP Clearance at Shannon, Ireland - Suspended starting Tuesday, March 17th at 0400Z.
  • Canada - We've received intel that the Prime Minister will likely be making a statement today with additional restrictions.
  • Mexico - Authorities are in the process of implementing a new phase of restrictions. We're expecting the official announcement soon.
  • Latin America - The list of countries in Latin America with restrictions is growing by the hour. Argentina, Aruba, Costa Rica, Colombia, Ecuador, Panama, and Peru are restricting entry of all non-citizens. Guatemala has restricted entry of anyone who has been in the U.S. or Canada in the last 14 days.
  • The Caribbean - Restrictions are being implemented rapidly across most countries. Most have now imposed travel bans on travelers from Europe and Asia, and some, such as Saint Maarten, have added the United States to the restricted list.
  • Asia-Pacific - In the last 24 hours, enhanced restrictions have been announced in Australia, Macao, and Singapore. China has also released new guidelines for major airports.

*This article contains information from public sources and some of the information provided to operators by Universal Weather

March 23, 2020